Future Chef’s Challenge Grows Larger The Second Year!

By: Brenden Mesch Filed under: Culinary

March 2, 2018

The top teams in the staggered-start event were determined by a panel of local chefs and scholarships were awarded by HEAT. 

Future Chefs PANO

Culinary teams from the following south Texas high schools:

• Brackenridge HS (San Antonio, Texas)

• Del Rio HS (Del Rio, Texas)

• East Central HS (San Antonio, Texas)

• LEE HS (San Antonio, Texas)

• Memorial HS (San Antonio, Texas)

• Pleasanton HS (Pleasanton, Texas)

• Roosevelt HS (San Antonio, Texas)

• Samuel Clemens (Schertz, Texas)

• Steel HS (Cibolo, Texas)

• Taft HS (San Antonio, Texas)

Judges for this year’s competition include Chef Tatu Herrera, co-founder and co-owner of The Cocineros and Tatu’s Food Debauchery, Chef Christopher Bieker, Consulting Executive Chef, and Pastry Chef Jennifer Riesman of The Silo Group. 

In the end every participant walked away with a great bag of culinary goodies provided by the campus and a host of donations from vendors. There were three teams that earned even more exciting awards through their judging scores in the competition:

1st Place  -- East Central High School -- $800 Scholarship per student to be used at any college.

2nd Place – Pleasanton High School -- $400 Scholarship per student to be used at any college.

3rd Place
– Lee High School -- Knife Set for Classroom Use.

The competition was supported by donations from over 25 vendors, campus volunteers that included nearly every department, and students from Culinary, Media, and Design.

Throughout the day, demonstrations from Ai San Antonio Chef Instructors provided students with an additional resource to learn about their craft and hone their skills:

• Cake Decorating: Tips and Tricks

• Round and Flat-fish Fabrication Techniques

• Dessert Plating: Creating a Impactful Final Impression on Guests

About HEAT

HEAT was formed in 1996 to further professionalism for secondary educators teaching hospitality and tourism programs in the state of Texas. HEAT is governed by a board of directors consisting of high school educators, college educators, and industry professionals. Members reside and teach throughout the state. This year the HEAT State conference will be held in November in San Antonio!

Learn more about our programs.

Request Information