Ai California—San Diego Holds Luncheon Honoring San Diego County Teachers

By: Lauren Loeffler

March 10, 2017

Culinary Program Chair, Chef Mark Blaauboer, and Director of Campus Relations, Lauren Loeffler, at The Art Institute of California—San Diego, a campus of Argosy University, recently partnered with the San Diego County Office of Education to plan and host a luncheon for the Teacher of the Year finalists for San Diego County Unified School District.

Teacher of the Year LuncheonTeacher of the Year Luncheon at The Palette

On January 26, the five Teacher of the Year nominees were treated to a gourmet three-course luncheon at Ai California—San Diego’s culinary student-run restaurant, The Palette. Many of the nominees attended the event with their principals, superintendents, and other school administration members. Following the lunch celebration, attendees were provided tours of the Ai San Diego campus.

Attendees included:

Fallbrook Union Elementary School District
● Amy Schwenke, Teacher of the Year Finalist, Fallbrook Street School
● Arica Rainey, Assistant Principal
● Bill Billingsley, Assistant Superintendent

Grossmont Union High School District
● Brooke Crocker, Teacher of the Year Finalist, Santana High School
● Doug Coffin, High School Department Chair
● Tim Schwuchow, Principal
● Tim Glover, Superintendent
Poway Unified School District
● Megan Gross, Teacher of the Year Finalist, Del Norte High School
● Marie Galaz, Assistant Principal
● Greg Mizel, Principal
● Tony Apostle, Superintendent
Sweetwater Union High School District
● Stuart Douglas, Teacher of the Year Finalist, Granger Junior High
● Cora Douglas, Teacher of the Year Guest
● Arturo Montano, Principal
● Karen Janney, Superintendent

Vista Unified School District
● Jenny Chien Anderson, Teacher of the Year Finalist, 
● Laura Smith, Principal, Casita Center, 
● Devin Vodicka, Superintendent

San Diego County Office of Education
● Music Watson, Chief Communications Officer
● Michelle Breier, Communications Assistant 


Learn more about our programs.

Get Brochure

By: Lauren Loeffler

March 10, 2017